About Us

Current Size: 140%

Share this

In recognition of the significant role of transport and ICT in building a modern state with a robust knowledge-based economy in light of Qatar National Vision 2030, the Ministry of Information and Communications Technology (ictQATAR) was merged with the Ministry of Transport as per Emiri Order No. 1 of 2016 amending the Council of Ministers.

Emiri Decree No. 4 of 2016 sets the mandates and functions of the Ministry. The Ministry of Transport and Communications specializes in organizing land and sea transport business, and work to develop and improve transport services, and the study of their own projects and supervise and follow up their implementation, in order to achieve the expansion of economic activity and service the requirements of the national development scale. On the other hand, the Ministry is responsible for a wide-ranging mandate that includes: overseeing and developing the information and communications technology sector to make it more vibrant, advanced, and secure to support a diversified economy and benefit all the people of Qatar; introducing ICT plans, policies, programs, projects and initiatives to foster a competitive environment that is conducive to investments; developing the next generation of infrastructure and then securing and enhancing the efficiency of that infrastructure; and driving innovation well into the future as a change agent for human, social, economic and environmental progress.

The Ministry also performs a critical and far-reaching role in developing e-government programs and boosting capacity and digital literacy to foster a technology-friendly environment that introduces innovative approaches to how we communicate, live and work.

Consequently, the Communications Regulatory Authority (CRA), which was established by virtue of Emiri Decree No. 42 of 2014, will continue as the independent regulatory body in the communication sector, encouraging and supporting an open and competitive telecommunications market and ensuring that consumer rights are protected. The CRA is also responsible for regulating the postal sector and access to digital media.

The Ministry will continue to mobilize efforts to harness the power of ICT to bring enhancements to the field of transport and every aspect of life in Qatar, building a more thriving economy.

عن الوزارة

Current Size: 140%

Share this

تقديرًا للدور الحيوي لقطاعي المواصلات وتكنولوجيا المعلومات والاتصالات في بناء دولة عصرية ترتكز على اقتصاد قوي قائم على المعرفة وتحقيقًا لأهداف رؤية قطر الوطنية 2030، قامت القيادة الحكيمة لدولة قطر بدمج وزارة المواصلات ووزارة الاتصالات وتكنولوجيا المعلومات بموجب الأمر الأميري رقم (1) لسنة 2016 تحت مسمى وزارة المواصلات والاتصالات.

وقد جاء القرار الأميري رقم (4) لسنة 2016 لتعيين اختصاصات وزارة المواصلات والاتصالات والمهام المنوطة بها. وتضطلع الوزارة بالعديد من المهام الرئيسية، مثل تنظيم أعمال النقل البري والبحري، والعمل على تطوير وتحسين خدمات النقل والمواصلات، ودراسة المشاريع الخاصة بها والإشراف عليها ومتابعة تنفيذها، بما يحقق توسيع نطاق الحركة الاقتصادية وخدمة متطلبات التنمية الوطنية. كذلك تختص الوزارة بالإشراف على تطوير قطاع الاتصالات وتكنولوجيا المعلومات لبناء قطاع نشط وحيوي وآمن يسهم في تعزيز اقتصاد وطني متنوع يعود بالنفع على جميع الأفراد والمؤسسات في دولة قطر؛ فضلًا عن تطوير الخطط، والسياسات، والبرامج، والمشاريع، والمبادرات والإشراف على تنفيذها بهدف تنمية هذا القطاع وتهيئة بيئة تشجع على المنافسة والاستثمار؛ وتطوير الجيل القادم من البنية التحتية ومن ثَمّ تأمين وتعزيز كفاءة تلك البنية؛ وكذلك قيادة وتحفيز الإبداع انطلاقًا من كونه محركًا رئيسًا للتغيير على مستوى التقدم الإنساني، والاجتماعي، والاقتصادي، والبيئي.

ويأتي ضمن أولويات الوزارة أيضًا تطوير برامج الحكومة الإلكترونية، وتعزيز القدرات ورفع الثقافة والمهارات الرقمية لتشجيع الابتكار وبناء مجتمع معلوماتي شامل يتفاعل أفراده مع التكنولوجيا، بهدف تطوير سبل جديدة ومبتكرة للعمل والتواصل فيما بينهم على نحو يلهم حياتهم ويثريها.

كذلك ستواصل هيئة تنظيم الاتصالات، التي تم إنشاؤها بموجب القرار الأميري رقم (42) لسنة 2014، عملها بوصفها الجهة التنظيمية المستقلة لقطاع الاتصالات حيث تتولى مهمة تشجيع ودعم التنافس في سوق الاتصالات وحماية حقوق المستهلكين، كما تتولى الهيئة تنظيم قطاع البريد والنفاذ إلى الإعلام الرقمي.

هذا وتواصل الوزارة العمل على تضافر الجهود الرامية لتطويع أدوات تكنولوجيا المعلومات والاتصالات لإدخال مزيد من التطور في مجال النقل والمواصلات وشتى جوانب الحياة في المجتمع القطري لدفع عجلة التنمية وتحقيق مستقبل أكثر ازدهارًا وتطورًا.